Four & a Half Stone and Back in the Zone!

So this week is the first week I have felt confident in running again after over 6 weeks of putting it off after my fall (I smashed my face on the concrete, bust my top lip and now have to have dental work done on my two front teeth! It shook me up for a while there) 

Well I have been struggling with getting back on the horse so to speak. Looking back I was trying to run straight back in at the speed, time and distance that I was running when I fell! I was so fixated on not wanting to have to start from the beginning again that I put myself off from running altogether. I kept on trying to complete 5ks and when I did then it was a great time but it was nowhere near as many times in a week as I wanted. I put pressure on myself to get right back to where I was without realising that going back to basics was the answer! 

In order to get motivated again I started a new food and exercise diary, and made some progress pics (see below) the diary made me realise I had relaxed into eating over my syn allowance everyday but with no compensation in exercise!

So this week I concentrated on my favourite mile! 

Runners say the first mile you run in one go is your most memorable mile! It’s true! It’s a great moment! This week I have concentrated on reliving my mile and repeating it everyday! It’s the mile I fell on so its killing some demons too! It’s given me my confidence back remembering how hard that mile was when I first started! How I could only run for 30 seconds at a time, and how that mile saw me develop my stride, breathing and stamina until I crossed my invisible finish line one day with the biggest grin! 

I feel like I now remember why I run, I now remember the peace, the thoughtful process, the concentration, the sense of achievement, and all the other amazing positive feelings that come with running. I realise it doesn’t matter if I run a mile a day or 5 miles a day as long as I am running that’s all that matters for now. I can build the time and distance back up when I am ready! 

For now I am so happy to look how far I have come! 

Most of my journey has been one mile at a time by the way. 

All 4.5 stone so far! X X 


On the left my engagement in May 2015 and on the right July 2016 after losing 4.5 stone since January 2016


On the left summer 2014 after a walk in Dovedale, on the right July 2016 after losing 4.5stone since January 2016

Keep running even if it’s for 30 seconds at a time!! Look what you can achieve if you just keep trying! 

X X X 

One thought on “Four & a Half Stone and Back in the Zone!

  1. Cheryl says:

    So so thrilled for you Mrs ,pleased your feeling great about all your achievements,and glad you are enjoying running again,big huge hugs xxxxxx

Leave a comment